Xcite Awards 2013 – winners announced

Posted: February 14, 2013

Xcite Books has announced the winners of the Xcite Awards 2013 and Lovehoney has grabbed a brace, scooping Best Internet Retail Site for the second consecutive year and also Best Reviewer.

Bonny Hall, head buyer at Lovehoney, commented: “We are absolutely delighted to win the Xcite Book Awards Best Internet Retail Site 2013. The fact that the award is decided entirely by customers makes it especially important to us. We’re incredibly honoured to also receive the Best Reviewer awards, knowing that we do so on behalf of all the customers who place their honest reviews on the Lovehoney website all year round. Thanks to our customers and their eagerness to share their knowledge and experiences, Lovehoney is now home to over 46,000 reviews of sex toys and erotica, making it the biggest resource of its kind in the world.”

Blogger Molly Moore, who writes regularly about her sexual adventures in her blog Mollysdailykiss.com, was named Best Blogger. She said: “I was so very surprised and pleased to win. It was the perfect way to start Valentine’s Day. I want to thank everyone who voted for me in these prestigious awards. I would like to thank all the people who took the time to vote for me.”

Dale Bradford, editor of ETO, which won the Best Publication award for the second year in a row, said: “Over the last 12 months erotic fiction has demonstrated just how influential it can be. It was responsible for showcasing adult goods in the mainstream in an unprecedented way and we are absolutely delighted to be recognised as one of its supporters. Sincere thanks to everyone who voted for ETO and congratulations to all the other category winners.”

The Xcite Awards were launched by Xcite Books in November 2011 in order to celebrate and recognise companies, reviewers, bloggers and sexperts who value and support the erotic fiction market. Nominations and voting, which closed February 13th, were open to the general public and Xcite customers. The winners of each category will receive a specially commissioned glass book.

Hazel Cushion, managing director of Xcite Books, said: “We are delighted with the response to our second awards. Last year saw a huge surge in interest in erotic fiction following the massive success of Fifty Shades of Grey and that has been reflected in the number of nominations of people working to promote erotic fiction and the increased number of votes. The Xcite Awards highlight and celebrate the dedication of the people behind the growing number of websites and blogs.”

The full list of winners were:

Best Internet Retail Site: Lovehoney.co.uk

Also shortlisted: AllRomance.com; Amazon.co.uk; AnnSummers.com; Sextoys.co.uk; Sh-womenstore.com

Best Blog: Mollysdailykiss.com

Also shortlisted: cliterati.co.uk; carasutra.co.uk; kdgrace.co.uk; lucyfelthouse.co.uk; rubygoodnight.com

Best Reviewer: Lovehoney.co.uk

Also shortlisted: coffeetimeromance.com; eroticaforall.co.uk; sextoytesters.co.uk; theromancereviews.com; Jade Magazine

Best Sexpert: Rachel McCoy (rachaelis.com)

Also shortlisted: Tracey Cox (Lovehoney.co.uk); Sarah Berry (fanniesrule.com); Emily Dubberley (cliterati.co.uk); Cara Sutra (carasutra.co.uk); Violet Blue (tinynibbles.com)

Best Publication: Erotic Trade Only (ETO)

Also shortlisted: Attitude; Cosmopolitan; Diva; Jade Magazine; Female First